Friday, 3 July 2020

Government updates travel corridor list - no 14 day quarantine for arrivals from these countries

The UK government has published details of the special travel corridors that will remove the need for the 14-day self-quarantine on arrival in England.

The new rules will come into effect on 10 July and will apply to all of England,  although not currently Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland, as public health policies are devolved to those nations. 

The government confirmed it is now satisfied that it is now safe to ease the need for self-quarantine for arrivals from some countries and territories.

Travel corridors: countries and territories exemption list
From 10 July 2020, unless they have visited or stopped in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days, passengers arriving from the following countries and territories will not be required to self-isolate on arrival into England.
AndorraGermanyNew Zealand
Antigua and BarbudaGreeceNorway
AustriaGuadeloupeSan Marino
BahamasHong KongSerbia
BelgiumIcelandSouth Korea
Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and SabaItalySpain
CroatiaJamaicaSt Barthélemy
CuraçaoJapanSt Kitts and Nevis
CyprusLiechtensteinSt Lucia
Czech RepublicLithuaniaSt Pierre and Miquelon
Faroe IslandsMaltaTrinidad and Tobago
FinlandMonacoVatican City
French PolynesiaNew Caledonia
Ireland is already exempt as part of the common travel area, as are the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.
In addition, the government is also exempting the 14 British Overseas Territories. It also expects the list to be added to and amended over the coming days following further discussions between the UK and international partners. It will also be amended should the spread and number of infections of coronavirus increase dramatically increase in those countries. 
Information for travel into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will be published in due course by the Devolved Administrations. Travellers should always check the latest FCO travel advice. Travel advice includes information on any health measures in place for visitors to the country or territory. These can include a requirement to self-isolate, quarantine, or undergo testing for coronavirus, or even restrictions on entry.
If it's not on the list, the requirement for a 14-day quarantine on arrival remains in effect.

Recommended for you...

No comments: