17 April, 2020

Qantas and Jetstar increase flights to form part of a minimum domestic and regional network supported by the Australian Government.

Qantas and Jetstar are pleased to help form part of the minimum domestic and regional network supported by the Australian Government.

This will see the number of passenger flights we operate increase from 105 per week currently to 164 per week to all capital cities and 36 regional destinations. 

While travel restrictions mean most passenger flights are not commercially viable at the moment, there remains a need for some essential travel – particularly given the distances between most Australian cities.

These flights will also provide critical freight capacity, which has fallen significantly as commercial air networks have shrunk. Much of the bellyspace on these flights will be used for mail and other urgent shipments, including medical equipment.

The temporary regional network focuses on towns that are more than two hours’ drive from key transport hubs.

The Qantas Group appreciates the support the Federal Government has provided to the Australian aviation industry through the minimum domestic and international networks, the $715 million rebate package and, more broadly, JobKeeper.

Importantly these additional services will see more planes in the air and ensure communities stay connected and assist with the movement of critical freight around the country.

While the risk of contracting Coronavirus on board an aircraft is regarded as low, social distancing has been put in place across all flights.

Similarly, on-board service will be a scaled back version of what would normally apply, with cabin crew focused on in-flight safety and they will wear personal protective equipment. On behalf of the Qantas Group, we sincerely thank our crew for their willingness to make these important flights possible.

The additional flights will roll out from Friday 17 April and be fully operational by Monday 20 April. Fares can be booked as per normal via Qantas.com and Jetstar.com. Customers are reminded that various quarantine restrictions apply across states and territories.

Services will be operated by a mix of Airbus A320s and A330s, Boeing 737s and Dash 8 turboprops.

The domestic and regional networks operated by Qantas, QantasLink and Jetstar are in addition to a small number of international flights (operated by Qantas) and ongoing operations by Qantas Freight as part of the national carrier’s role in maintaining critical transport links.

Adelaide – Melbourne           Adelaide – Sydney
Brisbane – Melbourne           Brisbane – Sydney
Canberra – Melbourne          Canberra – Sydney
Melbourne – Hobart              Melbourne – Perth
Melbourne – Sydney             Perth – Sydney

VIC/TASMelbourne – Mildura
Melbourne – Launceston

Brisbane – Cairns
Brisbane – Emerald
Brisbane – Gladstone
Brisbane – Mt Isa
Brisbane – Longreach
Brisbane – Mackay
Brisbane – Moranbah
Brisbane – Roma
Brisbane – Rockhampton
Brisbane – Townsville
Cloncurry – Mt Isa
Cloncurry – Townsville
Cairns – Horne Island
Cairns – Townsville
Cairns – Weipa
Charleville – Roma
Mt Isa – Townsville
Mackay – Rockhampton
Mackay – Townsville
Townsville – Rockhampton

Albury – Sydney
Armidale – Sydney
Ballina – Sydney
Coffs Harbour – Sydney
Dubbo – Sydney
Lord Howe Island – Sydney
Tamworth – Sydney
Wagga Wagga – Sydney

Adelaide – Kangaroo Island
Adelaide – Port Lincoln
Adelaide – Whyalla

Alice Springs – Darwin
Alice Springs – Sydney
Brisbane – Darwin

WANewman – Perth
Broome – Perth
Geraldton – Perth
Kalgoorlie – Perth
Learmonth – Perth
Port Hedland – Perth
Karratha – Perth
(Images Qantas)

Recommended for you...