Thursday, 14 January 2021

South America to UK travel ban

The UK's Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced a new far-reaching travel ban on those arriving from South America in a bid to halt the spread of a new Brazillian variant of the coronavirus.

The new travel ban applies to people who have travelled from, or through, the South American countries of Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela in the last 10 days. The central American nation of Panama is also on the list, with more expected to be announced in the coming days.  

Additionally,  the restriction is extended to travellers from Portugal, Madeira, the Azores and Cape Verde. However, the is an exemption for Portuguese road hauliers transporting essential goods.

The government advised that British and Irish citizens and foreign nationals with residence rights will still be able to travel back to the UK but must isolate for 10 days and the change would come into effect at 04:00.   

Recommended for you...

No comments: