Saturday, 14 March 2020

Trump extends coronavirus travel ban to UK and Ireland

The US President Donald Trump has ordered officials to extend the US coronavirus travel ban on European flights to include the UK and Republic of Ireland, starting at 0400 on Tuesday. American citizens and legal residents could still return to the US,  but they will be funnelled through specific airports and processed.

Any U.S. citizen or lawful U.S. permanent resident returning to the United States who has travelled to the United Kingdom or Ireland within the previous 14 days must enter the United States through an approved airport.

Foreign nationals who have travelled to one of the United Kingdom or Ireland within the last 14 days will be denied permission to travel to the United States.

President Trump's travel ban on 26 European countries that are members of the Schengen zone, came into force on Saturday.  Those countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Trump's ban also restricted entry to the U.S. from Iran, mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau)

Many European politicians and aviation experts are calling for a reciprocal ban on US flights from entering Europe to stop the spread of the virus.

American is evaluating its current scheduled service to the United Kingdom and Ireland and has not yet made any additional adjustments to its schedule at this time. American previously announced a schedule reduction to London on March 12, 2020.

Recommended for you...

No comments: